Home   |  
Press Room
Press Login

If you are a member of the media, please contact Elisa Hale at 860.873.8664 x323 for login information.

Goodspeed Gala

Goodspeed Gala

Save the Date!

Honoring Sue Frost
and her commitment to new musicals


An evening of food, drink, and special entertainment

The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station
55 Bridge Street, Haddam, CT

Please contact David Mai to request your personal invitation: dmai@goodspeed.org or 860.873.8664, x317

SUE FROST is a founding member of Junkyard Dog Productions (with Randy Adams and Kenny and Marleen Alhadeff) which is dedicated to developing and producing new musicals. Broadway: Come From Away at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre, 2010 Tony®, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Award-winning Best Musical Memphis, First Date. National tour and West End production of Memphis. In development: Chasing The Song, Fly High. Since its inception in 2006 Junkyard Dog has also produced Vanities, Make Me A Song (Outer Critics Circle, Drama Desk noms.) and Party Come Here. JYD also served as Executive Producer of Doctor Zhivago on Broadway in 2015. Prior to founding Junkyard, Sue was Associate Producer at Goodspeed Musicals for 20 years, where she produced more than 50 new musicals at both the Goodspeed Opera House and the Norma Terris Theatre. She is proud to have established, in conjunction with the NYU Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program, an annual residency for composers, lyricists and librettists at the Goodspeed as well as the pilot program for Goodspeed’s Musical Theatre Institute. Prior to Goodspeed she worked as a company manager on several Broadway shows and tours including A Chorus Line, Dancin' and The Rink. In addition to chairing two New American Works panels for the late Opera-Music Theatre Program of the National Endowment for the Arts, Sue has served as a panelist and/or site evaluator for the NEA, the Philadelphia Theatre Institute, the Connecticut Commission for the Arts and Tourism, the Massachusetts Cultural Council, and the TCG/Pew National Theatre Artist Residency Program. She lectures regularly at Yale University and is a member of adjunct faculty at Columbia University. A graduate of Smith College, Sue is past president of the National Alliance for Musical Theatre, and is currently a member of the Broadway League’s Board of Governors, Executive, Tony Administration and Intra-Industry Committees as well as co-chair of the Audience Engagement Committee.

View the Member Event Photo Gallery


Arborio Construction
Stephanie Stiefel Williams and Luke Williams

Fran and Honey Adams
Becker’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry
Collins Medical Associates 2, P.C.
Connecticut Public Broadcasting Network
Jeffrey and Nancy Hoffman
LAZ Parking
Linda Morasutti and Robert Lee
Eric Ort and Duff Ashmead
Quinnipiac University
Hila and Saul Rosen
Updike, Kelly and Spellacy, P.C.
John Voege and Geoffrey Paul

Tony Cacace
Centerbrook Architects
Catherine Ladnier and Mickey Robinson
Michael Polo

Jennifer Brown and Ian Ayres
Amy and Frank Campbell
Ted and Jo Anna Chapin
Ruth Ann C. Davis
Nancy J. Ramseyer
Dr. Anne L. Rothstein
and Ms. Jane Hellman
Gerald and Charlotte Sandler


Tom and Melanie Barnes
Barbara and Jack Blechner
Jack and Bertie Chuong
Lance and Rebecca Darcy
Maureen Dalton
Muriel and Karl Fleischmann
William J. Ginnetti
Hartford Current Media Group
Dr. and Mrs. Bernard Kosto
Julie and Peter LeBlanc
Liberty Bank
Mark Masselli and Jennifer Alexander
Patrick and Sharon McHale
Larry and Patty McHugh
Norman Needleman and Jacqueline Hubbard
Michael D. Patrick and Carol L. Sedwick
Susan and Hank Scherer
Joseph Smith

Joyce and Greg Barabas
Mary Crary
Mr. and Mrs. Robert F. Coviello
Maureen F. Dalton
Charlotte and Charles Fortune
Laura and Roger Goodspeed
Sheldon M. Harnick
Lynde and Mike Karin
Rose B. Motola
Chuck and Dianne Ramsey
Karen and Allyn Seymour
Suburban Stationers
Vicki and Alan Wasserman


as of August 8, 2017

2017 Gala Silent Auction Donors 

Fran & Honey Adams
Jerry Adler
Nancy Altschuler
bin 228
Bishop's Orchards
Bonne Sante Wellness Center
Braise and Brew
Brescome Barton
JoAnna Chapin
Chatfield Hollow Inn
Cronin Photography
Derek DiGregorio
Foresight Theatrical
Charlie and Charlotte Fortune
Fox Hopyard Golf Club
Joanna Hamby
Historic Deerfield
Junkyard Dog Productions
Melinda Kingsbury
Mohegan Sun
      Ocean House
Omar Coffee Company
Park Avenue Restaurant
Claudia Post
RJ Julia Booksellers
Jefferson Riley
Hila Cohen Rosen
Saybrook Point Inn
Stacey Mindish Productions
The Bloomsbury, London
The Golden Lamb Buttery
The Griswold Inn
The Mohegan Tribe
The Stand
Wild Honey Face and Body Suite

Goodspeed Award for Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theatre

Originally designed for and presented to Ira Gershwin more than 20 years ago, this is Goodspeed's most prestigious honor. Goodspeed is pleased to bestow this annual award upon a member of the theatre community in recognition of their extraordinary talent.


Chita Rivera Tony Walton Sheldon Harnick
2012 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Kristin Chenoweth
2011 Goodspeed Gala Honorees Martin Charnin, Charles Strouse, & Thomas Meehan
2010 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Paul Williams William Ivey Long 2008 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Michael Price
Jerry Herman
Stephen Schwartz
2005 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Julie Andrews
2004 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Gerald Schoendfeld with Patti LuPone
 2003 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Susan Stroman 2002 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Tommy Tune
2001 Goodspeed Gala Honoree Ira Gershwin

Goodspeed Arts & Business Partnership Award


  • 2012: Hoffman Auto Group