Home   |  
Press Room
Press Login

If you are a member of the media, please contact Elisa Hale at 860.873.8664 x323 for login information.

Festival of New Musicals

Festival of New Musicals

january 17-18-19, 2020

To learn more when 2020 Festival details are announced, please join our mail list.

This 3-day event on the Goodspeed campus offers artists the rare opportunity to work on their projects with the help of Goodspeed’s renowned resources and artistic environment, while affording students fromThe Hartt School of the University of Hartford and The Boston Conservatory real-world experience in new musical development and performance.  Several weeks before the Festival begins, three writing teams and seniors from Hartt and BoCo converge on the Goodspeed campus.  The writing teams cast the students in their new musicals and rehearsals begin.  The writers and composers dedicate their time to further developing their pieces as they prepare the students to perform staged readings of their new works.  The Festival of New Musicals culminates at the end of the second week with staged readings of the three new musicals, breakout sessions dealing with pertinent issues in Musical Theatre, a preview of the upcoming Norma Terris Theatre season, a Symposium, a Meet the Writers Reception, a Festival Dinner, and several Cabarets.  

Read a complete history detailing the creation of the Festival of New Musicals here.

Visit our Festival Archives

to learn more about our past Festivals and to track the progress of your favorite FNM shows


Lead Corporate Sponsor:
 RisCassi & Davis
With Support From:
Burry Fredrik Foundation
ARS Foundation
Noel Coward Foundation 
Webster Private

Friends of the Festival 2019
Shawn Amdur & Dale Woods
Denise Bernardo & Eddie Muentes
Anne Calanquin
Amy & Frank Campbell
Kevin Condrin
Don & Terri Coustan
Susan Gonsalves
William Gratz & James Bruno
John & Joanna Hamby
Regina Hausmann
Peter Hoyle
Chris Joy & Cathy Velenchik
Stu & Ellen Kazin
Pat & Koen Loeven
Jon Lukomnik & Lynn Davidson
Dave & Judith Macri
Ed & Sonya Mangan
Linda Morasutti & Robert Lee
Mark Planner
Jeff Riley & Mary Wilson
Anne Rothstein & Jane Hellman
Megan & H. William Stine
Russ Tait & Lee Anderson
Jessica & Carl Thompson
George Vinick & Margaret Saxe
Chris & Tracy Weed
Marie Wilson & Colette Trohan

Goodspeed Musicals Max Showalter Center for Education in Musical Theatre