Home   |  
Press Room
Press Login

If you are a member of the media, please contact Elisa Hale at 860.873.8664 x323 for login information.

All About Goodspeed

All About Goodspeed

Where We've Been

Goodspeed’s beginnings date back to 1963 when we opened our doors as a professional musical theatre in an historic building on the banks of the Connecticut River in East Haddam. Under the direction of Michael Price from 1968 to 2014, Goodspeed transformed from a struggling entity into a non-profit arts organization with a mission. At first, Goodspeed’s commitment was to discover rarely produced musicals from the repertoire, reworking them and bringing them to life. We were also intent on adding to the repertoire by discovering and nurturing promising new musicals presented at both the Opera House and the Norma Terris Theatre in neighboring Chester.

In our history, we have produced over 250 musicals, including over 70 world premieres, and exported 21 productions to Broadway.  Goodspeed stands as the first regional theatre in America to earn two special Tony Awards, one in 1980 for outstanding contributions to the American musical and a second in 1995 for distinguished achievement for a regional theatre.

Who We Are Today

Goodspeed mounts both new and newly revived musicals each year on our main stage at the Opera House and on our second stage in Chester – a total of more than 400 performances during the April to December season attracting 130,000 patrons to the Connecticut River Valley. We stand at the forefront of producing and preserving the American musical, simultaneously reinventing the classics and inventing new ones. We attract well-known icons of the theatre world and foster emerging talent among composers, lyricists, and librettists. Each year, thousands of actors, directors, choreographers, and technicians aspire to come to Goodspeed to practice their craft. Among millions who know and love this art form – and those who appreciate its history and enduring appeal – Goodspeed is widely recognized as “The Home of the American Musical.”

Throughout the year, and intensively during the winter months, Goodspeed addresses issues unique to the field by offering innovative and highly-sought after programs through our Max Showalter Center for Education in Musical Theatre, including the celebrated Musical Theatre Institute providing programs for aspiring musical theatre professionals. The Arts Education Collaboration provides art-education programs for underserved Connecticut youth. The Festival of New Musicals features students from the Hartt School and the Boston Conservatory performing staged readings of three brand new musicals, industry-related seminars, a symposium and cabaret performances.  Each winter, Goodspeed also hosts the Johnny Mercer Foundation Writers Colony that invites musical theatre writing teams to retreat from daily life for a four week residency and concentrate solely on writing new musicals.  In addition, Goodspeed serves as a resource for the preservation of the art form through our Scherer Library of Musical Theatre, the second most extensive musical theatre research library in the United States.

The Future We Envision

The Goodspeed campus will continue to serve as a thriving artist colony where the creative process informs the work on our stages and expanding educational programs.  We aspire to serve as a safe haven where a singular commitment to discovery and innovation will enrich the field with the next generation of musical theatre artists.

Mission Statement

The mission of Goodspeed Musicals is to be the leader in preserving and producing musical theatre of the highest quality by:

  • Rethinking, restoring and producing works that are valued and significant in the history of musical theatre;
  • Developing  new musical theatre works;
  • Nurturing the talents of new composers, lyricists and librettists;
  • Encouraging and developing the talents of artists, technicians, and administrators;
  • Inspiring future audiences through education programs and outreach efforts;
  • Preserving and expanding the archival collections of its Scherer Library of Musical Theatre and making them available for professional use;
  • Maintaining the Goodspeed Opera House, a national historic landmark.


Goodspeed Opera House on-line tour


Board of Trustees

Francis G. Adams, Jr.
Timothy Arborio
Jay Benet
Myron R. Bernstein*
Jennifer Brown
J. Robert Buchanan*
Anthony Cacace
Theodore S. Chapin
Kay Knight Clarke
Alvin Deutsch
Christopher Dodd
Muriel Fleischmann
Sue Frost
Michael Gennaro
John H. Hamby

Jeffrey Hoffman
Chandler Howard
Lynde Selden Karin
Mary Ellen Klinck
Julie Godbout LeBlanc
Susan Link
Mark Masselli
Lawrence McHugh
Robert Roy Metz*
Linda Morasutti
Robert F. Neal*
Michael G. Polo
Michael P. Price*


Jeffrey Richards
Jefferson B. Riley
Kristen Roberts
Hila Rosen
Susan Scherer
H. William Shure*
Joseph Smith
Peter E. Strniste, Jr.
Leonardo H. Suzio
John Voege
Stephanie Stiefel Williams
John F. Wolter
Dona D. Young*

*Emeritus Trustee


Francis Adams Chairman
John Wolter President
Hila Rosen First Vice President
Jeffrey Hoffman Vice President
Mark Masselli Vice President
Susan Link Treasurer
Anthony Cacace Interim Secretary

Past Presidents

Francis G. Adams, Jr.
Alan C. Davis
Noel M. Davis +
Noel B. Gerson
Norwick R. G. Goodspeed +
John H. Hamby +
Hal James
Bernard Knollenberg
Robert F. Neal +
Beatrice H. Rosenthal +
Richard F. Schneller +
Muriel W. Selden +
Marian D. Terry
DeRoy C. Thomas +

+also served as Chairman of the Board

Goodspeed Counselors

Carol Adams
Sandra Anagnostakis
Richard T. Cersosimo and Valerie J. Koif
Catherine Ladnier and J.M. Robinson
Mrs. Charles R. Lindberg
Andrew and Bonnie Lee McKirdy
Anthony and Chelsea Michaud
Chuck and Dianne Ramsey
Saul Rosen
Dr. Anne L. Rothstein and Ms. Jane Hellman
Edgar E. Shirley
Carl and Jessica Thompson
Meghan Young

Scherer Library Advisory Board

Ken Bloom
Theodore S. Chapin
Alvin Deutsch
Christine Donohue
Brian Drutman
Michael A. Kerker
Robert Kimball
Bruce Pomahac
Bill Rosenfield
Henry S. Scherer, Jr.
Steven Suskin

The Max Showalter Center for Education in Musical Theatre Advisory Board

Gordon Greenberg
Robert R. Metz
Jane Percy
Peter Walker
Nancy Wolf

Goodspeed Guild Board of Directors

Amy Campbell, President
Jay McAnally, Vice President
Dale Ferris, Recording Secretary
Jessica Adelson, Corresponding Secretary
C. William Stamm, Treasurer

League of Resident TheatresNational Alliance for Musical Theatre